2022 Baku Grand Slam: 50 Years of Judo in Azerbaijan

Day considered one of Baku’s 2022 Judo Grand Slam competitors was trigger for celebration, as Azerbijan celebrates 50 years because the creation of its judo federation. 

A spectacular opening ceremony was launched by Mr Farid Gayibov, the Republic of Azerbaijan’s Minister of Youth and Sport, Dr Laszlo Toth, the IJF’s Vice President, and Rovshan Rustamov, Azerbaijan Judo Federation’s Vice President. 

The group went wild for the ultimate of the -60kg class, as Azerbijan’s younger star Balabay Aghayev took the win in Golden rating, sending the native followers into raptures.

Mr Rashad Nabiyev, President of the Azerbaijan Judo Federation awarded the medals.

At -48kg, Italy’s Milani took on French European Champion Shirine Boukli — in what turned out to be a short-lived contest.

A robust driving hip throw scored Ippon within the first 30 seconds, and gave France their first medal of the event.

Mr Farid Gayibov, the Republic of Azerbaijan’s Minster of Youth and Sport was readily available to award the medals.

At -52kg, Uzbekistan’s Diyora Keldiyorova secured a tactical victory to win her second Grand Slam title this yr

She was awarded her medals by Dr Laszlo Toth, Vice President of the IJF.

At -66kg, Denis Vieru of Moldova got here out on high.

The medals had been awarded by Mr Madat Guliyev, Republic of Azerbaijan Minister of Defence Business

2019 World Champion Christa Deguchi appeared again to her finest, at -57kg. She was awarded the gold medal by Mr Florin Daniel Lascau, the IJF’s Head Referee Director.

The group had lots to cheer for, as their nation’s gold medal was bolstered by two unbelievable bronze medals for native hero Orkhan Safarov, who scored Ippon with a second of brilliance.

To high it off, Karamat Huseynov achieved a thunderous Ippon — displaying how Azerbaijan has turn into one of many strongest and most passionate Judo nations on this planet. 

Be certain to not miss day two!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *